Strictly Come Dancing Winner 2009

Strictly Come Dancing has concluded with this years winner raising the glitterball trophy for 2009.
Read on for more details of whether Ricky Whittle or Chris Hollins won the title.
 The Judges for the 2009 final
Strictly Come Dancing’s most controversial series has ended with Chris Hollins winning the glitterball trophy for 2009. Runner up is Ricky Whittle.
Ricky Whittle and Ola, BBC OneWhittle, star of Channel 4 soap opera Hollyoaks was teamed up with dancer Natalie Lowe while Chris Hollins, from BBC Breakfast, partnered Ola Jordan. Hosts Bruce Forsyth and Tess Daly guided viewers through proceedings, live from BBC Television Centre, while judges Len Goodman, Craig Revel Horwood, Alesha Dixon, Bruno Tonioli and guest judge Darcey Bussell gave their opinions as the couples took to the floor to dance four dances each. The couples performed their highest-scoring ballroom dance, their highest-scoring Latin dance, a group Lindy Hop and their own “No-holds-barred show dance” – a freestyle routine that each couple performed in the hope to win over the public. The group dance featured all previous contestants from this past series including EastEnders’ Natalie Cassidy and former Cricketer Phil Tufnell. 
The final saw roles switched as the judges had no final say, the viewer vote was to decide the outcome. The judges placed Ricky Whittle top in their scoring, however there was ultimately only a four point gap between Whittle and Hollins. 
After 14 weeks of dancing, insults from the judges, other television stars slating how Brucie treats people off-screen, dancers speaking out of turn [and being called racist], the axing of a popular judge for a pretty singer, falling ratings, having to endure Bruce Forsyth’s elderly singing twice and being thrashed by ITV’s The X Factor the grand final finally aired, although this year no one seems to really care. 
ATV News‘ own stats show that this year there is a staggering 80% less interest in Strictly articles than the previous series, while The X Factor dominates our top ten rating articles with -at time of press – seven stories in the top. 
Chris Hollins, BBC OneWith Chris Hollins placed as Strictly Come Dancing Champion 2009, the show isn’t quite over yet. A festive special will air on BBC One this Friday, Christmas Day. Strictly favourites from the more successful previous series’, including Austin Healey, Gethin Jones and Rachel Stevens, return to perform new versions of their iconic dances, and they battle it out against three of the celebrity dancers from the current series for the title of Strictly Christmas Champions. 
Come Dancing originally aired from the 1950s to the 1990s as a proper professional dancing contest before it was dumbed down for a modern audience. Bruce Forsyth started his television career on ITV with ATV Network’s Sunday Night At The London Palladium. Presenter Justin Lee Collins and actor and radio presenter Alfie Joey have recalled stories of the former Generation Game and Play Your Cards Right host being, allegedly, far from hospitable when the cameras are not present.