Terra Nova: Only 13 Episodes to air in 2011

Terra Nova{jcomments on}It’s been revealed that only 13 episodes of Terra Nova will air this year.

There’s another twist in the Terra Nova saga as the dino-Fox drama will only air 13 episodes this year. The show has already had its pilot delayed from May until the Autumn when the series itself will premier. Fox were hoping to air the pilot in May and launch the series in Autumn in order to give audiences a preview of Terra Nova and build up word of mouth – ala Glee. The tricky issue of CGI – and how much Terra Nova needs considering its setting – meant Fox had to scrap these plans. It is most likely the CGI and the post-production time involved is the reason why only 13 episodes will air this year – ending in December and returning in September 2012.

There are additional reports claiming producers will likely start work immediately on the episodes for next year and soon as production wraps on the first batch of episodes. Terra Nova stars Jason O’Mara, Shelley Conn, Stephen Lang, Christine Adams and Allison Miller. Fox recently announced the series would air on Monday evenings in the Autumn. You can watch a trailer here >>