Ryan Giggs is given the Golden Foot

Ryan Giggs has been bestowed with the 2011 Golden Foot award.

The Welshman, who has become an iconic Manchester United FC midfielder, received the highest number of votes among the ten nominees.

In order, he beat Javier Zanetti, Samuel Eto’o and Xavi Hernandez. Giggs wins the golden mould with diamonds stars after being candidate for years and thanks to an extraordinary career, now celebrated by the Principality of Monaco. After receiving the award from H.S.H. Prince Albert II, Giggs left his footprints on the Champions Promenade, the Walk of Fame of International football in the Principality seafront.

The international jury who selected Giggs as the 2011 winner are a range of sporting experts including Engel Schmidl from Soccer International, Australia, Michel Moulin of Le10Sport, France and closer to home John Brewin from ESPN Soccernet.com, England.

The Golden Foot gong is described by organisers as an “international career award given to some of the greatest footballers. The winners are immortalised in the Champions Promenade on the Principality of Monaco seafront where the footprints of the winning players reside.” They add, “H.S.H Prince Albert II decided to give this part of the promenade in the Principality to create the Walk of Fame of international football.” The first awards were held in 2003 and the first winner was Roberto Baggio.

Nominations are gathered from online fan polls, discussion with former winners and debate with experts.

This years full list of nominations were,

  • David Beckham (England)
  • Ginaluigi Buffon (Italy)
  • Iker Casillas (Spain)
  • Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
  • Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
  • Ryan Giggs (Wales)
  • Carles Puyol (Spain)
  • Raúl González Blanco (Spain)
  • Xavi Hernández (Spain)
  • Javier Zanetti (Argentina)