2011 British Comedy Awards nominations announced

Channel 4 has revealed nominations for this year’s British Comedy Awards. The event will be broadcast live on Friday 16th December at 9pm.

“Friday Night Dinner and Miranda are expected to dominate proceedings after sweeping four nominations each.” Say Channel 4, adding, “Fresh Meat, Harry Hill and Twenty Twelve all score three nominations. Just a year on for being nominated for Best Male Comedy breakthrough Artist, Jack Whitehall, is now up for for Best TV Comedy Actor and King of Comedy.”

They continue “Alan Carr: Chatty Man, An Idiot Abroad, Harry Hill’s TV Burp and Stewart Lee’s Comedy Vehicle are set to battle it out for Best Comedy Entertainment Programme.”

The two hour ceremony will be hosted by Jonathan Ross from Fountain Studios, featuring the biggest names in British comedy and guest stars from around the world. There are 17 categories including the People’s Choice Award for the King or Queen of Comedy, and special awards for Outstanding Achievement, Lifetime Achievement and the Channel 4 Award for Special Contribution to Comedy. The night brings together a raft of new comedy stars with established talent, all vying for a prestigious British Comedy Award plus this year promises to be the comedy world’s official and most glittering Christmas party.

Once the winners have been announced and the party is in full swing, the action switches to E4 at 11pm for The British Comedy Awards: Live Lock-In, hosted by Lauren Laverne and Rick Edwards. Giving viewers exclusive access to the after show party, Lauren and Rick will be interviewing stars of the night and getting reaction to this year’s event.

The gong show switched to Channel 4 after two decades airing on ITV. In June 2010 it was announced that Channel 4 had signed a three year deal with producers Unique Television to broadcast the comedy showcase.

The awards were usually broadcast live on ITV and had produced a few controversial moments over the years, however, controversy has also been sparked by who the awards were given to when it was revealed that Catherine Tate should have been given an award at the ceremony but it was given to ITV luvvies Ant and Dec instead.

The show was investigated and ITV decided not to broadcast the planned 2007 ceremony because of the faking issues.

2011 Nominations

  • Best New Comedy: Fresh Meat (C4), Friday Night Dinner (C4) Spy (Sky), Twenty Twelve (BBC)
  • Best Comedy Entertainment: Alan Carr Chatty Man (C4) An Idiot Abroad (Sky), TV Burp, (ITV), Stewart Lee’s Comedy Vehicle (BBC)
  • Best Sketch Show: Come Fly With Me (BBC), Horrible Histories (CBBC), The One Ronnie (BBC), This Is Jinsy (Sky)
  • Best Comedy Panel Show: Celebrity Juice (ITV2), Have I Got News For You (BBC), Shooting Stars (BBC), Would I Lie to You? (BBC)
  • Best Sitcom: Friday Night Dinner (C4), Miranda (BBC), Peep Show (C4), Twenty Twelve (BBC)
  • Best Comedy Drama: Fresh Meat (C4) Misfits (E4), Comic Strip Presents: The Hunt For Tony Blair (C4), Psychoville (BBC)
  • Best Comedy Entertainment Personality: Alan Carr (Chatty Man) Charlie Brooker (How TV Ruined Your Life / 10 O’clock Live) Graham Norton (Show), Harry Hill (TV Burp)
  • Best Comedy Actor: Darren Boyd (Spy), Hugh Bonneville (Twenty Twelve), Hugh Dennis (Outnumbered), Jack Whitehall (Fresh Meat)
  • Best Comedy Actress: Claire Skinner (Outnumbered), Dawn French (Psychoville) Miranda Hart (Miranda) Tamsin Greig (Friday Night Dinner)
  • Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist: Dan Skinner, Greg Davies, Micky Flanagan, Tom Rosenthal.
  • Best Male TV Comic: Charlie Brooker, Harry Hill, Rob Brydon, Stewart Lee
  • Best Female TV Comic: Jo Brand, Miranda Hart, Sarah Millican, Victoria Wood
  • People’s Choice for the King or Queen of Comedy: To vote, call 0901 616 4444 and selecting one of the following numbers:

For David Mitchell press 1, For Graham Norton press 2, For Jack Whitehall press 3, For Jo Brand press 4, For Miranda Hart press 5 and For Sarah Millican press 6

**Calls cost 36p from a BT landline. Calls from other networks may be higher and from mobiles will cost considerably more. Touchtone phones only. Maximum 6 votes per caller. Details and Terms at channel4.com/comedyawards. Voting closes during the Comedy Awards on 16thDecember 2011