National Television Awards 2012 : The Winners

NTA 2012The National Television Awards 2012 are over and we recap the winners of the night.

Doctor Who’s Karen Gillan picked up best Female Performance for her portrayal of the Doctor’s companion Amy Pond. This was matched when the Doctor himself Matt Smith won best Male Performance. This year’s Newcomer Award went to EastEnders once again, this time picked up by Jacqueline Jossa who plays troubled teenager Lauren Branning.
The first award of the night went to Michael McIntyre for his Comedy Roadshow programme. There was a rapturous applause when Celebrity Juice won for best Panel Show. Host of the show Keith Lemon was joined on stage by regular team captains Fearne Cotton and Holly Willoughby. Lemon joked that he would like to thank his Dad, Billy Ocean, which is a long running gag on the ITV 2 show.
The Landmark award went to David Walliams for his work for Sport Relief. Walliams swam the length of the River Thames last year in which he become violently sick after picking up an illness from the dirty water.  Alan Carr seen off the competition from Graham Norton, Jonathan Ross and Loose Women to pick up the Talk Show award for his Channel 4 show. He was presented with his award by footballer Thierry Henry.
There was no surprise when Ant and Dec won for Entertainment Presenter. This is the 11th time that the popular duo have won this award. They were up against the host of tonight’s awards Dermot O’Leary, Michael McIntyre and Keith Lemon.
Katherine Kelly (below) picked up an award for Drama Serial Performance. Kelly’s character Becky McDonald left Coronation Street on Monday. She was not there to pick up her award but instead her former colleagues Paula Lane and Ryan Thomas who play Kylie Platt and Jason Grimshaw.
Ant and Dec were up on stage once again to pick up Reality Show award for I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out Of Here! They were joined on stage by some of last year’s contestants Mark Wright, Fatima Whitbred and the latest King of the jungle, Dougie Poynter. Outstanding Contribution award went to Gary Barlow. The X Factor judge was awarded for his work for charity, raising money for BBC’s Children In Need by organising a concert in Manchester attracting a host of big star names to help raise funds.
In the Factual Programme category ITV 1’s This Morning won in which hosts Philip Schofield and Holly Willoughby looked shocked when the announcement was made. This is the second time that the daytime programme has won. Downton Abbey won for best Drama, beating off competition from Dr Who, Merlin and last year’s winners Waterloo Road.The Sunday drama regularly attracts over 10 million viewers and the Christmas special also time-shifted well in the ratings.
There was no surprise when the X Factor won for best Talent Show. Mentors from the show, Tulisa Contostavlos and Gary Barlow went on stage to collect the award and thanked many, including the creator of the show Simon Cowell. The Situation Comedy award was given to BBC One’s Outnumbered. One of the stars of Outnumbered, Tyger Drew-Honey was euphoric when walking up to the stage to collect the award.
The Special Recognition award was given out by last year’s winner Sir Bruce Forsyth. The recipient of the award, Jonathan Ross, was praised for his work on BBC, ITV and Channel 4 for over 25 years. A compilation of his highlights was show before collecting his award Ross looked emotional as he picked up his award, also saying he was humbled to be receiving it.
The final award of the night was for best Serial Drama. This is the only award which the public can continue to vote for during the show. Coronation Street won, beating last year’s winner EastEnders along with Emmerdale and Hollyoaks. Sally Dynevor, who plays Sally Webster, paid tribute to Betty Driver who died last year.