Sky Arts reveal South Bank Show Award personalities

Sky Arts have announced the A-list names who are to give out gongs at the forthcoming event.

Kristin Scott Thomas, Jo Brand, Victoria Wood, Grayson Perry, Tim Minchin and Dame Margaret Drabble are just some of the names that have been confirmed as presenters of the South Bank Show Awards 2013.

The winners this year will receive a newly designed trophy created by artist Livvy Fink in collaboration with the Royal College of Art. The awards are one of the world’s most coveted arts awards, with the presenters joining Melvyn Bragg to honour the best of British culture and achievement across the arts. Each category – visual art, theatre, opera, dance, comedy, classical music, pop, TV drama, literature and film – is traditionally presented by a celebrated talent within that field.

The awards will also see performances by the award-winning tenor Alfie Boe, classical violinist Nicola Benedetti to an audience of 300 guests from across the arts.

South Bank Sky Arts Awards Presenter Line-Up:

Jo Whiley: Pop Music
Nicola Benedetti: Classical Music
Akram Khan: Dance
Mark Strong: Film
Jo Brand: Comedy
Dame Margaret Drabble: Literature
Grayson Perry: Visual Art
Richard E. Grant: TV Drama
Tim Minchin: The Times Breakthrough Award
Amanda Echalez: Opera
Kristin Scott Thomas: Theatre
Victoria Wood: The Dorchester Award for Outstanding Achievement

This year also sees the return on the 18th April of The South Bank Show arts series, which has been recently been nominated for an RTS Award. The televised awards will broadcast on Thursday 14th March on Sky Arts 1 at 9.30pm.

One comment