Second phase of local TV licensing could see 30 new channels

OfcomBroadcasting regulator Ofcom has today announced its plans for the second phase of local TV licensing.

Ofcom has invited prospective applicants to submit expressions of interest for new local TV channels in 30 areas of the UK including Reading, Hereford and Aberdeen.

The first phase seen 19 licences awarded with some of the new stations to be on air by the end of the year. They had initally hoped to to cover 21 areas but there were no bidders for the Swansea or Plymouth area however they are featured in this new round of submissions.

The 30 locations are: Aberdeen, Ayr, Bangor, Barnstaple, Basingstoke, Bedford, Bromsgrove, Cambridge, Carlisle, Derry/Londonderry, Dundee, Guildford, Hereford, Inverness, Kidderminster, Limavady, Luton, Maidstone, Malvern, Middlesbrough, Mold, Plymouth, Reading, Salisbury, Scarborough, Stoke on Trent, Stratford upon Avon, Swansea, Tonbridge and York.

The closing date for expressions of interest is 24 April 2013.