Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Award wins for One Direction and Tom Daley

Winners at this years’ Nickelodeon’s 2013 Kids’ Choice Awards include Olympic diver Tom Daley, One Direction, Katy Perry, Johnny Depp, SpongeBob SquarePants, Selena Gomez and Simon Cowell.

Hosted by the biggest kid in Hollywood, Josh Duhamel, the awards took place at the Galen Center at USC in Los Angeles where kids honoured their favourites from the worlds of film, music, sports and television. This year, a record-breaking 387 million votes were cast around the world in the 22 international categories.

“I grew up watching Nickelodeon and I am a massive fan of the awards so a huge thanks to everyone who voted for me,” said Olympic Diver and winner of the Favourite UK Sports Star Award, Tom Daley. “It’s my first time in LA and I’ve had an amazing trip. Not only was the sun shining, but I can’t believe I won the Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Award for UK Favourite Sports Star. The competition was fierce and it means so much as these are awards voted for by the kids.”

Tom Daley accepted his award at the star-studded and slime-filled event that featured for the first time ever, a special slime camera which gave fans a 360-degree view of all the action on stage, including Sandra Bullock and Neil Patrick Harris’ surprise sliming at the presenter podium. Actors Josh Hutcherson and Amanda Seyfried took the prize for the most epic sliming on the show. Also a first for the messfest, Nickelodeon debuted the “Kids’ Choice Moustache Cam,” a take on the popular “kissing cam,” which featured kids and celebs wearing fake funny mustaches.

In their first-ever live performances at the KCAs, multi-talented global superstars Pitbull, featuring Grammy Award-winning vocalist Christina Aguilera (right) and Ke$ha ignited the stage. In addition to “Don’t Stop the Party,” Pitbull performed his explosive hit “Feel This Moment” with Aguilera and a crew of mini lookalike dancers, and found himself drenched by a massive slime fountain at the end of the song. Ke$ha rocked the stage amid bubbles, confetti and disco balls, with a medley of “We R Who We R” and her new single “C’Mon.” Not to be out done, host Duhamel dressed in a milkshake costume and got his groove on with Jaden Smith and kids in the audience during an impromptu ‘Kids’ Choice Shake’ dance.

Broadcast on Nickelodeon this evening, the awards show features additional celebrity participants, including: Steve Carell, Kristen Wiig, Jaden Smith, Lucy Hale, Miranda Cosgrove, Big Time Rush, Cory Monteith, Jennette McCurdy, Ariana Grande, Sofia Grace and Rosie, Gabby Douglas, Ashley Tisdale, Lucas Cruikshank, Scott Baio and many others.

In the international Categories Orange blimps were presented to Johnny Depp (below, left) for Favourite Movie Actor; Kristen Stewart for Favourite Movie Actress and Favourite Female Buttkicker; The Hunger Games for Favourite Movie and Wreck-It Ralph for Favourite Animated Movie. Dwayne Johnson won top honours for Favourite Male Buttkicker and Adam Sandler took home the blimp for Favourite Voice from an Animated Movie for his role of Dracula in Hotel Transylvania.

In the television categories, Favourite TV Show went to Victorious; Favourite Cartoon to SpongeBob SquarePants; In music, top honours went to Katy Perry for Favourite Female Singer; Justin Bieber for Favourite Male Singer and One Direction nabbed Favourite Music Group and Favourite Song. The Hunger Games series garnered Favourite Book; Temple Run won Favourite App and Just Dance 4 won for Favourite Videogame.

Along with Tom Daly and One Direction, UK honours were awarded to Adele for Favourite UK Female Artist and Ed Sheeran for Male Artist. Robert Pattinson and Emma Watson received blimps as Favourite UK Actor and Actress while Nickelodeon’s smash hit House of Anubis won for Favourite UK Television Show.

The Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2013 will air on Nickelodeon at 5:30pm today with an encore presentation at 7:00pm on Monday, 25th March.